Kilroy saw a ray of sunshine! re: public education

Today I attended a family celebration of the enlistment and departure of a family member leaving for Army boot camp. Among the attendees were two teachers from his former high school, Delcastle. One, I was amazed they took the personal time out to attend and two, their passion and hope for students. I was like wow how these two were so in-tuned to core issues aka heart and soul that impedes at-risk student. The internet divide was part of the conversation. During that conversation, I commented about Wilmington’s lack of free wifi for all. This is where closing the internet divide must start! Giving student’s E-readers / I-Pads where they don’t have the luxury of connecting to the internet is counter productive. Free wifi  could also help poor parents who want to complete high school or online GED prep-classes or even college. Free wifi could help parents to become better engaged and “connected”. But back to the topic! I was very encourage to see young educators motivate to not “give up” despite the challenges they face. The support they showed for the young man preparing top ship-out tomorrow seems to be driven by love and high hopes for this young man whom he leaned on while in high school. They made him better and I think he made them better in knowing they make a difference in his life.      

One response to “Kilroy saw a ray of sunshine! re: public education

  1. lastDEconservative

    “Wilmington’s lack of {{free wifi}} for all. Giving student’s {{{free}} E-readers / I-Pads where they don’t have the luxury of connecting to the internet is counter productive. {{Free wifi}} could also help poor parents who want to complete high school or online GED prep-classes or even college. {{Free wifi}} could help parents to become better engaged and “connected”.”

    Once again, the mind of our Aristotlean host takes a quantum leap ahead of the rest of us. In the light of Kilroy’s wisdom, the truth seems so simple. MORE FREE STUFF! In defense of the rest of We the Morons, I can see why we didn’t figure it out … the current quantity of FREE STUFF is so great as to make one believe that FREE STUFF just *might not* be the path to inner city schooling (not education) utopia. Yet, there it is. FREE WIFI. How did I not think of it first? Well, okay, I’ll confess; I was thinking along the lines of FREE BLOOM BOXES and FREE RENEWABLE NATURAL GAS so the lights could stay on for homework time in the winter, so I got distracted from what has turned out to be the “final solution.”

    Like