Redlining The DOE Press Release On Acting Secretary John King’s Visit To Delaware

Exceptional Delaware 2017

In God we trust, all others show data.

KingMarkell

Putting a new spin on the words appearing on US Currency, State Rep. Debra Heffernan’s words above shot the smoke and mirrors involving testing, as quoted by Newsworks/WHYY.  My response to Rep. Heffernan: What in God’s name are you even talking about?

On the cusp of the biggest blizzard to hit Delaware in Governor Markell’s 2nd term as Governor, Acting US Secretary of Education John King came to Wilmington yesterday and the biggest topic was tests.  More specifically, standardized tests.  What came out of this visit highlights this insanity inflicted on our children.  Below is the press release with my comments on this in red.   After that, a quote from a State Representative showcases the growing frustration parents, teachers, and legislators are having with this environment.

ACTING U.S. SECRETARY OF EDUCATION HIGHLIGHTS STATE  WORK IN VISIT

Acting U.S. Secretary of Education John King praised Delaware…

View original post 1,279 more words

16 responses to “Redlining The DOE Press Release On Acting Secretary John King’s Visit To Delaware

  1. I simply don’t know how I ever received a decent education, having not been tested multiple times per annum. It’s amazing I ever succeeded in college.

    Like

  2. Publius e decere

    Every test I took — and I took plenty, and they were difficult — gave me parallel doses of accountability, humility, cynicism and motivation. In no particular order. They told me if I learned anything beyond the narrow world of my teacher, and they told me if I could compete in the world at large. They told me to work harder and sometimes they told me that the tested matter was BS in relation to what I needed to succeed in life. Without testing I would have been blind to where I stood, other than the questionable opinions and put downs of Ms D … A person in whom my parents district entrusted mentorship and leadership. I say it was close to the ship, but missed it by a letter.

    Without testing, I would only be what Ms D (high school “professional”) told me I could be. Testing told me that I could be more, much more. Ms D, however, told me that testing was not relevant and that I was exhibiting my “real (low) potential” in daily school life. Of course I didn’t hang out with her 98% of the time so what could she know? Ms D was an old hag — she told me that all I could be was a truck driver. She literally said that, in writing and on my “record”. Screw her. Every reunion I go to I pay respect to her on the wall of the high school. And every chance I get I support educators of every stripe who play to a student’s potential and their drive rather than their mismatch with the teacher’s paradigm.

    Earn it. All the way. Be given a fighting chance but don’t confuse that with a pass. And don’t ever be put down by teachers who say you can’t …You can. Just check the wall 🙂

    Publius

    Like

    • Oh my God! You are a complete idiot Publius. All these rants and raves on here stem from a guidance councilor or teacher advising you that you would end up being a truck driver? Finally, the origin revealed. And yet the cynicism you received from Ms. D didn’t teach you anything. You continue to beat down those who you deem as “below you”, just like she did. When I saw you recently, you looked like a fossil sitting there. No emotional expression, no happiness, no anger, no sadness, just a statue, aside from the few moments you fixed your neatly combed hair. You have some serious issues man. You come on here under your fake name thinking God parted the Red Sea just for you. You really have no clue about how the real world looks, just your elitist view of it. I pity you, more than anything…

      Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Sigh. Someday I hope to witness Angos recognizing the forest before his nose is splattered flat on a tree.

      Like

    • But Last, what if Agenda 21 levels the whole damn forest?

      Like

    • lastDEconservative

      I thought Agenda 21 was about preserving the forests … by imposing superior intellect to the determination of its use.

      Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Sort of like your plan and rationale for directing the schooling (not education) system. 😉

      Like

    • Publius-

      Every test I took — and I took plenty, and they were difficult — gave me parallel doses of accountability, humility, cynicism and motivation.

      Um, humility was definitely missed, probably covered up as an adult by your Narcissistic Personality Disorder. As for accountability, there is nonoe with your anonymity, so no sale there either. The other two: 100% agree with cynicism while motivation is in little doubt, you are motivated like no other to destroy our schools. So, there ya go.

      Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Did I miss the starting gun for a new race to Most Bitter Blogger?

      Like

    • I no longer blog

      Like

  3. I encourage you all to go work as a substitute teacher for a few days. I think it’ll do you some good. In fact, I would encourage any state lawmaker, prior to casting a vote on anything related to education, to spend a few days working as a substitute teacher. Forget the dog and pony show visits. Get in the classroom. I assure you all, your outlook on education and where the problems lie will change. Maybe you don’t want your eyes opened. Who knows. But they will open wide, once you’re in a classroom.

    Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Not a bad idea, actually. Can I get a one week membership in the union, though? And if so, what about benefits during, and after? Especially dental. (Where IS my pal Break these days, anyway?)

      Maybe our odds of spending a few days in the classroom would be better as a student …

      Like

  4. What are you afraid of? I suppose of what you don’t know. Seriously, it’s not a complicated process. And I wouldn’t limit it to one week. I imagine it would take you/anyone a week in each level (ES, MS, HS) and at multiple, different locations. Obviously, if you worked a week at CSW, you would have no idea what it means to be a public high school teacher in Delaware. But I think it’s important that you go to CSW, as well as your experience at Christiana High School. And please, visit Linden Hill, AND one of the downtown elementary schools that is a Priority School. That is, if you really want a clear, experienced, picture of what you’re talking about. If you’re not in the schools – if you haven’t been in schools, either as a teacher, administrator, parent, active member of a PTA, board member etc…you really aren’t speaking from any kind of experience, (and of course, visit as a student…I often invite my students’ parents to sit in the back of the class and observe…it is eye-opening for them).

    Like

    • lastDEconservative

      The only thing I’m afraid is that you didn’t answer how I can become credentialed to be a week long (now times three) substitute teacher. Mind you, I don’t consider my request to create an obligation on your part, but I am curious.

      So, Christiana, Linden Hill, and what, Warner? That would just about be fitting as one of mine was bused there from here in leafy suburbia during that short span of time when the principal was stellar and the edstablishment hadn’t figured it out. Once they did, he was dispatched to a backwater spot somewhere downstate and soon bugged out of the Republic as I recall. I didn’t think I’d forget his name … he was living proof of my premise that change for the better will only come when one somebody steps up and takes charge — that is, act in a completely antithetical way to that of the idiocracy and its insatiable thirst for Stalling and Distracting by Committee. Good guy. This was the same time frame that Red Clay hired and shortly dismissed an equally stellar superintendent for the same reasons. We went to district board meetings and watched the parents appreciate the guy, and the educrats throw coke bottles at him. Some days those were.

      Like

  5. LDC… Tell ya what you continue to cry for dental. Identify yourself and I will accompany you to the dentist and I will foot the bill minus the deductible and minus my contributions to the plan. Free dental for life shows you exactly how clueless you are.

    Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Welcome back, dude(tte)!! Missed you!

      Simmer down! Look up McGuffin. If you don’t see my caricature there next to a dental chair, you might see M’s under a voice balloon saying “stupid, elitist, and selfish.”

      Like