My God protect your soul dear friend Dave Jones

 David A. Jones

David A. Jones, age 55, of Bear, DE, passed away on Thursday, October 22, 2015, at Heartland Hospice House in Wilmington, DE. He was born on May 24, 1960, in Wilmington, DE to the late Raymond E. Jones and Judy Horseman Pacheco.

David graduated from Christiana H.S. and earned his Bachelor Degree in History from the University of Delaware. Affable and energetic, he first started an advertising and marketing business, working with local businesses. His love was for history and civic duty, so he turned to teaching. He taught history at A.I. DuPont, William Penn and Glasgow High Schools. He also led his students by example, and was very involved in the political and democratic processes about which he taught. He was very active in the Delaware Republican Party and assisted many candidates in their campaigns in the state. Dave later went on to be a founding member and the first Principal of the Pencader Charter School.

He is survived by his brothers, Andrew D. Jones and his wife, Lori, of Bear, DE, and James T. Jones, and his wife, Charlotte, of Bear, DE; two step sisters, Marie Pacheco, and Teresa Gibson-Chance, both of Newark, DE; two step brothers, Joseph Pacheco, of Newark, DE and Richard Pacheco of Elkton, MD; step father, Manuel R. Pacheco, of Newark, DE; and many nieces and nephews.

In addition to his parents he is predeceased by his step mother, Helenruth Jones.

Services will be held 12 PM on Monday, October 26, 2015 at R. T. Foard & Jones Funeral Home, Inc., 122 West Main Street, Newark, DE 19711. Friends and family may visit two hours prior beginning at 10 AM. Burial will follow at St. George’s Cemetery, in St. George’s, DE. To send online condolences visitwww.rtfoard.com

Dave Jones was an amazing person full of amazing ideas that served people. He was one the hardest working Republicans in Delaware’s history and don’t think he was hard-line extreme right Republican. He related to people in the middle and those of us who felt disfranchised by the party. Dave and I would have many conversations regarding politics and education. 

After years of knowing Dave, he said “I don’t know if you know this but I am gay”.  I was like so!  I did engage him on Republican views on gays re: gay marriage. I found it hard to believe that a gay person would work so hard within the Republican Party knowing that gays were some kind of social outcast when it came to equality. Dave was a motivator! 

Yes!  Dave was the founder of Pencader and had his rifts with the some board of directors. But I remember his his dreams and vision prior to opening Pencader and it wasn’t about building an elitist type of charter school.  Average students and at-risk students we’re all welcome but had to apply themselves. 

Rest in peace Dave! And I am going to miss our chats.  

5 responses to “My God protect your soul dear friend Dave Jones

  1. I am very sorry to hear this!

    Like

  2. As I recall- Dave and I met at Delaware when we were young Republicans. He remembered those days more than I did. We were running around like crazy people painting signs for Tom Evans, Pete duPont and Mick Castle in my back yard while the candidates were eating hot dogs from a grill in my front yard. We were full of ourselves. Years later when I was at Thomas Edison, he called and asked for help opening Pencader. Pencader was his pride and joy and we were all sad when he left.

    For the next several years Dave would call and say ” you got a minute” and I would laugh and chat on my way to school knowing that most of what I said would end up on Kilroy. It was a great relationship that i will miss. He was a great friend, a good republican and he will be missed by every Republican that loved to laugh.

    Like

  3. oops- Mike Castle not Mick – the signs we painted in my yard were Green and White?

    Like

  4. Paula Manolakos

    Rest in Peace dear Dave, you will be missed!!!

    Like

  5. Wow, I had no idea. When I think back to Pencader I try to always think of the positives and that included Dave. I only met him face to face once and it wasn’t at the school. It was at the Hunter’s Den bar 🙂 and we had a nice conversation. I told him about my thoughts on the school (similar to what you said above Kilroy, how it was a school of low income, middle income, black, white, Middle Eastern, Asian, everyone) and with high standards of behavior expected and enforced and truly what a nice atmosphere the school always had, and he talked to me about the reasons he wanted to start the school and about his previous teaching job. I will always have a great respect for him. May he rest in peace. Prayers for his family and friends.

    Like