Kilroy Is Going To Go On The Warpath Over The Hat Trick…Hide Schwartzkopf and Hudson, Hide Well!!!!

Exceptional Delaware 2017

I warned them, numerous times.  Get House Bill 61 to a vote.  Allow school board meetings to be recorded and put them on public web sites 7 business days after.  I told them this was the third year in a row it was on the ready list but never got to a vote.  Do they listen to me? Hell no!

In hockey, if someone gets three goals, they call it a hat trick.  Well, State Rep. Schwartzkopf and State Rep. Hudson are both the hat trick recipients for NOT getting Kilroy’s bill to a vote.  For three years in a row.  And he is NOT happy!  Hudson sponsored the bill three years in a row, and Speaker of the House Schwartzkopf let it sit there,  gathering dust, three years in a row.

I would not want to be on the receiving end of whatever comes next.  And I’m guessing he…

View original post 37 more words

7 responses to “Kilroy Is Going To Go On The Warpath Over The Hat Trick…Hide Schwartzkopf and Hudson, Hide Well!!!!

  1. Publius e decere

    Kilroy has been a consistent advocate for recordings. I also guess that he understands their limits, and thus he trims his sails accordingly. He also knows that occasional attendance at meetings would go a long way to enhance credibility of this kind of “bill”. Which is probably why the bill has low credibility.

    “War path” is not constructive. Rather than write “exceptionally”-long blog posts which bore most everyone to tears, certain bloggers should try summarizing. Start with the facts. Here is an example:

    53% of traditional districts need intervention — on the same basis, only 33% of vo-tech districts and only 24% of charter schools need intervention. Isn’t this a wakeup call for traditional districts to change their game?

    Publius

    Like

    • The indicators those ratings are based on, while good, only show a very small part of special education. There are a multitude of other, and some would say, far more important factors that go into an IEP. The number one issue would be DENIED IEPS!!!!! It’s very easy to set up a rating system that attacks the vast majority of the schools that house the bulk of the state’s special education students, low-income students, and minority students. It’s very easy to give a school a “meets requirements” or “needs assistance” when the n# for so many of those schools is so low the schools don’t even count for many of the indicators the other districts are judged on. It’s very easy for so many of the 24% to game the system and engage in denying children with disabilities entrance into their schools or counsel them out. It’s also very easy for the 53% who get high school kids with what should be already established IEPs to have a firm grasp on the process. The fact that ALL of them are not at a more stringent and accountable ratings system speaks volumes for the state of special education in Delaware. Exceptionalize that Publius!

      Like

    • Correction, when I referred to the 53% getting students with IEPs, I meant the 33% (the vo-techs). So sorry for the lengthy reply to my reply. If I may ask though Publius, how did your favorite school do in this compliance rating? And how many special education students attend there? Food for thought. Just don’t choke on it! 🙂

      Like

  2. Publius e decere

    There is actually a fourth category not-reported. “Needs Dr Kevorkioan” Only the Christina District qualifies. A special situation which calls for extraordinary intervention.

    Like

  3. Pencadermom

    Good Lord. What is with the obsession with recordings? I’ve got a kid here (no, not my kid) who feels like he has no hope for his future. He wants to be at a vo-tech school learning a trade but he is too old now to get in, and no one told him to apply when he was in middle school. Why didn’t anyone in his middle school even tell him about vo-tech? They were worried about the potential empty seat at Glasgow? I cross my fingers every day that he doesn’t drop out of school, and I tell him he can go to night school and learn a trade once he graduates, but I just hope he makes it that far. Why aren’t you fighting for more vo-tech? Why aren’t you fighting for more guidance counselors? Why aren’t you fighting for more intervention? What you care about the most is the recorded message of how fucked up all of our schools are? Why????

    Like

    • I fully support school recordings. I also fully support a host of other issues in schools. But yet you want to jump into the latest “attack the other blogger” over one article I’ve posted that Kilroy happened to reblog because it IS an issue near and dear to him. If you bothered to read any of the many articles I posted yesterday (July 1st), you would know what my most important issues are. And my proposed solutions to many of those issues.

      In terms of the kid you are trying to help, first off, I think that’s awesome you are engaging with him and exploring options. I think all students should be given options for what they want. But let’s not be mistaken on vo-techs. Vo-techs nowadays are vastly different than the ones students went to when I went to high school. They weren’t schools that were necessarily sought after, they were where certain kids went. I have talked to many folks on the subject of vo-techs, and the vast majority of students want to go to them so they don’t have to be in the traditional school district, mostly related to issues I wrote about earlier tonight on one of my own posts, which dovetails perfectly into Publius’ above bragging about a system he has helped perpetuate as well as numerous articles I have and will continue to write about.

      When my son is older, when I pray to God this damn state finally gets a firm grasp on what special education should be and not the Wild West they actually have, perhaps he will go to a vo-tech, or a traditional school, or dare to say it, maybe even a charter. And I sincerely hope the kid you are trying to help is able to get the guidance he needs to help him make the decision that is best for him. I think there are numerous and essential positions in our school that are being shunted to the side in favor of the glorious standards and the ridiculous assessment that accompanies them. Students aren’t getting the well-rounded education many of us received in our younger days. Music, art, library, and the true role of guidance counselors are all in jeopardy in this bizarre landscape called education in our country. Guidance counselors are not social workers or psychologists, but this is what they have become. And some will say with my recent posts I think all adults in a school should fit this role, but that is far from the case.

      We are all walking on a very large landmine these days as students with disabilities are on the rise, and will rise even further. This is the new reality. While we sit at 13% as a state average, trends and research are showing this will only get larger as time goes on. If we don’t tackle this issue head-on now, and get our heads out of our standardized march to proficiency ass, we are all going to drown under the weight of this. The funding mechanisms are broken, we all know that. If we don’t stop treating the students with disabilities as a “problem”, everything else will fall apart.

      Like most problems, you can’t get to the heart of true issues if our schools don’t operate on a level of transparency. If the admins at these schools can’t be forthcoming and fully engage with their teachers and parents, and even the students, than the sky will fall. Instead, they are doing whatever the DOE wants. This all reminds me of the Germans who knew about the concentration camps, but did nothing about it. Harsh analogy, but with what will happen to children in the not-so-far future, it isn’t that far off.

      Like

  4. Pencadermom

    “Vo-techs nowadays are vastly different than the ones students went to when I went to high school. They weren’t schools that were necessarily sought after, they were where certain kids went.” – I’ll make sure my husband doesn’t see that last line! 😀
    I know there are a lot of kids at vo-tech who aren’t necessarily interested in learning a trade. I know because when my oldest son was in 8th grade and applying to various high schools, vo-tech was on his list as a back up! And I know other families who were doing the same. And that is ashame because it is potentially taking up seats of kids who really should be there or really want to learn a trade.
    As far as my post, sorry I don’t read your blog. I barely have time to read Kilroys blog and only do a few times a week now.. I didn’t realize that was your post and my comment was directed at Kilroy not you. I know that it is Kilroys ‘thing’ and he knows that I always bug him saying there are bigger fish to fry.. he hasn’t kicked me off so I guess he’s ok with me nagging him about it. Carry on 😛

    Like