Delaware legislation allowing parents Smarter Balanced opt-out for their kids is being held hostage by chair of house education committee

House Bill 50 

This bill creates the right for the parent or guardian of a child to opt out of the annual assessment, currently the Smarter Balanced Assessment System.

Folks, House Education Committee Chairperson Rep Jaques controls the ball (the process). Word has it Governor Markell ordered a Code Red on H.B. 50. It won’t make it out of House Education Committee! 

4 responses to “Delaware legislation allowing parents Smarter Balanced opt-out for their kids is being held hostage by chair of house education committee

  1. Its real simple, my child will not be in school for the testing. Its not a secret when they are scheduled. What will they do arrest me, or suspend my child?
    Game on

    Like

  2. This bill creates the right for the parent or guardian of a child to opt out of the annual assessment, currently the Smarter Balanced Assessment System.

    The bill does no such thing. Parents already have that right. We hold these rights to be self-evident, etc.

    Like

    • lastDEconservative

      Good point, O. (last said, dodging a lightning bolt). Let me say it more boldly for the denizens:

      The reason men form civil government (in the USA at least, at least until recent history) is to PROTECT rights that can only come from God … the capital S State has no power, authority or position to CONFER rights, and is especially chastened not to impinge upon them.

      Thank you for calling sufficient attention to the key word. I am spoiling now for my rep’s or senator’s next coffee klatch. I shall do with my pocket Constitution/Declaration what the new sheriff did in the second most famous scene in the most famous movie, and say to the rep/senator, “excuse me while I whip this out.”

      Like