OMG! Red Clay’s January 21, 2015 board agenda 5. Approval on Minutes refers to OMG

Look at Red Clay’s board agenda for January 21, 2015 upcoming board meeting See 5. Approval of Minutes (C) January 8, 2015 Brandywine Springs School PTO.

Steve Newton ripped me an new ass on this previous post How many Red Clay Board Members does it take to make a quorum ? Posted on by kilroysdelaware

Steve said this :

When that morphs into a paranoid rant (and, yep, that’s what it is) over three individuals who decided to come out and watch a fourth make a presentation, and who didn’t engage in any discussion or answering of questions, and that becomes the reason for melodramatic calls for people to step down because they’ve “violated their oaths,” then I call bullshit.

I am not going to jump the gun here re: assumption! However, I find it odd that if the meeting at Brandywine Springs on January 08, 2015 re: PTO meeting where 4 Red Clay board members attended didn’t fall under open meeting laws why is Red Clay school board in the position to “Approval Minutes”? Can anybody give a rational explanation as why its on the board agenda?

13 responses to “OMG! Red Clay’s January 21, 2015 board agenda 5. Approval on Minutes refers to OMG

  1. OK I’ll bite (since you mentioned me in the post): If one assumes that Merv did not know ahead of time that more than three board members showed up at the meeting, and therefore did not post it as a public meeting, what should he have done after the fact?

    How about acknowledge that it happened and report on what did happen at the PTO meeting in question?

    Ironically, if he hadn’t put it on the agenda, he’d be getting criticized for trying to cover it up.

    But just to insure that there’s no confusion: while four board members were physically present, only Kenny Rivera was on the agenda, only Kenny Rivera spoke (giving a prepared statement), and there were no questions and no interactions by Adriana, Cathy, or Faith with anybody about the Cooke feeder pattern.

    What kilroy saw as a “violation of their oaths” I’d see as three board members individually taking parent concerns seriously enough to come out to the meeting. But I’m sure there’s a conspiracy in there somewhere, if only by innuendo.

    OK kilroy you can now suggest I take a tranquilizer for disagreeing with you.

    Like

    • kilroysdelaware

      🙂 No tranquilizer 🙂 Just some lemon in that iced tea 🙂
      I did get your point Kenny read his statement and other board members were just spectators. Valid point ! Just strange reference to the Brandywine PTO would be on the board agenda! Now don’t shoot me , I am just the piano player ! I didn’t write the music!

      Like

  2. Oh, and just so I don’t get accused of covering anything up, I’m pretty sure that four board members also showed up spontaneously at the Warner Elementary meeting on Priority Schools last week. I’d expect that to show up on this agenda or the next one. [And it was a different cast at Warner.]

    What should we do about board members concerned enough to come out to these meetings? I know–we’ll discourage them from actually being accessible to the parents.

    Like

    • kilroysdelaware

      Well one thing for sure, when I die we won’t need to worry about a board quorum at my funeral! Won’t been one 🙂 I’ll be cremated a.s.a.p!

      But for really! I’ll concede and say this, a board “meeting” would be something in regards to discussing school business whereas that discussion would lead to direct future board action.

      I think the real danger is if at this month’s board meeting there was an acknowledgement that Brandywine PTO meeting did include a meeting of the board via a quorum, it would reinforce future events of such to be board meetings! Very dangerous precedence!

      As I said, I am not jumping the gun here! I just made an observation re: the board agenda.

      Like

    • Actually, I think a lot of people will show up at the funeral–if only to be certain you’re not faking it. I hear that Mark Murphy is planning to bring garlic and a wooden stake–just in case.

      Like

    • kilroysdelaware

      I told my wife I didn’t even want an obituary in the News Journal. But odds are my real name wouldn’t connect with Kilroy. But I do know this, Markell would order the “state flag” be lower to half to half staff 🙂

      Like

  3. Kilroy, could this action item be the result of the recent foiapalooza? It makes sense to me that since we all know they read you and friends loud and clear they are then covering their asses to pre-empt the time and cost associated with foia?

    Like

    • kilroysdelaware

      I am trying to be rational and see things from Steve’s perspective. If Kenny representing himself not speaking for the board or making promises beyond his personal position engages the PTO then fine. Also if other board member show up as spectators and not engage in conversation with the community / PTO then it’s not a public meeting. But I can’t image other board member present no engaging in conversation even in the back of the room, hall way or parking lot.

      School board members are elected public officials and have the right to attend community meetings. But other elected officials Reps ans Sens do in their respective districts. School board members are elected at-large or rather the entire district voters can vote in all board races.

      Steve does have a personal attachment to the issue and I walk on eggshell because I consider that person as well as other board members friends. Sure I’ll twist the blog post titles and raise concerns on the what if’s! But we all know how the system works with Markell as the prime example! Far to often shit goes down and we’re fighting to undo the damages. Red Clay can be a sleepy town but when new rules are in place or laws, everybody wakes up as says nobody told me.

      Red Clay is a good example of how local control works whereas we have many in the public willing to be watchdogs and willing to speak up. The inclusion issue was prime example of how many of us in Red Clay do take ownership of local control. The super serves at the pleasure of the board and the board severs at the pleasure of the voters. The public are the owners of the public schools. All is good and debate is healthy!

      Like

    • Publius e decere

      Headline: Kilroy Folds Like Paper Tiger

      Steve 1
      Kilroy 0

      Like

    • kilroysdelaware

      Didn’t fold! Just giving Steve a little respect! Are you jealous and in need of a hug :).

      Like

    • The point should be raised that not only does “Steve” have a personal attachment in this case, but that this is a small state. EVERYBODY has a personal attachment to something.

      I do know that at Brandywine Springs (don’t know about Warner) that within the meeting room there was actually zero discussion about the feeder pattern issue, probably (I will freely admit) because the people who feel the most strongly about it chose not to show up and engage.

      What happens in the parking lots between individuals … stays in Mexico, right?

      Like

    • Publius e decere

      Who am I to judge who you hug? Be happy.

      Like

    • lastDEconservative

      ” … because the people who feel the most strongly about it chose not to show up and engage.”

      Printed.
      Posted.
      Studying.

      Especially brain weary with the words “chose not to” drawing me like a moth to a flame. Understanding this, uh, phrase, may never be mine.

      Like