Why is Wilmington Delaware’s leaders refusing ownership of charter schools?

The time has come to amend the Delaware Charter School Law to allow the City of Wilmington to authorize charter schools.  Moyer and Reach Academy ordered closed by the state could both move under Wilmington’s charter authority. So why hasn’t there been a move by Wilmington leaders to make this happen?   

21 responses to “Why is Wilmington Delaware’s leaders refusing ownership of charter schools?

  1. lastDEconservative

    Wilmington leaders.
    Rudolph (the red nose) ‘s Maserati.
    Kwacko’s contribution.
    Charlie (tuna) ‘s bicycle.

    Like

  2. They dont want actual control or responsibility. Politicians would rather yell and scream about how THOSE PEOPLE are screwing up and create a lot of bluster than to actually take the control

    Like

    • I think that’s part of it, Arthur, but another part is that the bloom is coming off the charter rose in Wilmington. The city, more than any other community, has had an up-close look at charters and is slowly backing away. The tone of city council meetings during education discussions is very different than it was several years ago.

      Other than money, why would anyone want to take over these schools?

      This really isn’t the city’s mess to clean up, and I’m not comfortable with city council/city government overseeing charter schools – this would be like asking county council to authorize and oversee charters. That’s not their role. This just comes across as a game of hot potato – designed to toss the failure of these charters onto someone else.

      Like

  3. Supporting comment, here’s how system thinkers define Leadership:

    “the term “leadership system” refers to how leadership is exercised, formally and informally, throughout the organization; it is the basis
    for and the way key decisions are made, communicated, and carried out.

    It includes structures and mechanisms for decision making; two-way communication; selection and development of leaders and
    managers; and reinforcement of values, ethical behavior,
    directions, and performance expectations.

    An effective leadership system respects the capabilities and requirements of workforce members and other stakeholders, and
    it sets high expectations for performance and performance improvement.

    It builds loyalties and teamwork based on the organization’s vision
    and values and the pursuit of shared goals. It encourages and supports initiative and appropriate risk taking, subordinates organizational structure to purpose and function, and avoids chains
    of command that require long decision paths.

    An effective leadership system includes mechanisms for the leaders
    to conduct self-examination, receive feedback, and improve”.

    Courtesy of my colleagues in the quality community and the DE state
    quality award program.

    Like

    • Greg, you seem like a good guy, but you really need to stop spamming these threads. Do you have anything to say about the specific topic of this post? You come across as a cult member, which I don’t believe is your intention, but…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Spam?…Cult?…you may want to have another person review my
    contributions and translate the essence for you. I continue to exercise
    my leadership as an advisor to the organizations seeking improvement. Yes, thank-you, I’m considered by many to be a spirited contributor and overall a good guy. Often, quality can be seen as a cult, which is not a bad thing.

    I question your intent and those whose attack comments seem to ignore the message expressed. Yours is not a supporting comment,
    however, it’s your right to speak; I deserve to be as well.

    Full disclosure…I don’t hide behind an alias.

    Like

    • Oh, for crying out loud. Everyone knows who I am. If you don’t, then you need to question how involved you are in Delaware education.

      On another thread you directed me to look into an Ohio college, which supports your view, for my daughter. I looked into it and found it far below my standards set for my children. We would never consider that college as an option for our children. You are spam, and I’m beginning to wonder if you get paid by the word. At least that would explain your constant derailing of threads.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. No dog in this fight

    Pandora wrote, “Greg (Mazzotta), you seem like a good guy, but you really need to stop spamming these threads.

    Pandora is correct — Greg sounds like a consultant looking for work, and using someone’s blog for his own purpose. His continual entries on someone else’s blog discredit all those who are really interested in expanding the use of continuous improvement approaches.

    He must be desperate if he is using this blog (or any other) to promote himself.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What, no comment on grammar/text? My contributions to this blog
    are instructional and historical. Your assumption is incorrect.

    Seems like you do have an agenda – No dog in this fight.

    What role do you play in driving quality/improvement in DE?

    Like

    • There is a discussion to be had. What role do you play in driving quality eduction in Delaware, Greg? I can’t see it. What are your thoughts on Priority Schools, Greg? What are the issues facing the city and how would you solve them? Should the city take over Moyer and Reach? Why, or why not? What are your thoughts on the MOU?

      Show me that you understand the dynamics, Greg.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pandora, my your comment, I am not aware of your identity, so
    I guess I’m not the frequent contributor as no dog in this fight proclaims.

    My reference for STEM resources were to showcase the event and not recommend the institution in MI, not OH. The ASQ STEM
    Conference planning is underway for 2015 as well as the National
    Quality Education Conference, which leads me to re-state my point
    as to the level of awareness education leaders demonstrate. DE
    has not participated in either conference and may be left out of trend analysis, resources, and strategic alliances.

    I’m keeping the commitment I made in 1999 to support quality education for Delaware and, NO, I’m not compensated for my occasional posts, Pandora.

    Like

    • The college you directed me to look into, Greg, was sub-par. If this qualifies as excellence then count me out.

      And… if you were familiar with DE education you would know who I am. Just like you’d know who Publius is. But you don’t, which demonstrates how out of touch with DE education you are. I’m through indulging your nonsense. I have more respect for Publius.

      Like

  8. No dog in this fight

    Greg asks, “What role do you play in driving quality/improvement in DE?”

    I have no role in Delaware. I have just been following this blog for a while and have seen your non-contributory posts often.

    I have to ask, what role do you (Greg) play in driving quality/improvement in DE? Also, to whom did you commit in 1999?

    Like

  9. Pandora, again, you may want to have a trusted friend review my post and translate the knowledge I have shared regarding quality education in Delaware.

    Are you inviting me to this conversation?

    I’m aware of the dynamics and issues that exists and will continue to contribute necessary in order to foster learning, from a systems perspective, continuous improvement and sustainability. FYI, it
    took Montgomery Cty schools nearly ten years to climb the peak in performance excellence. The book, – Leading with Equity and Equality – which I have shared here is the leading reference book used by schools of education.

    Sadly, DE has squandered this opportunity, however that can change with visionary leadership. What say YOU? You might want to check the link on this blog.

    Like

  10. Really?..this is your response regarding inviting me to the
    discussion on Priority Schools? Nothing? I have many of the
    components for quality education as applied to Priority Schools.

    For a professional education leader with self confessed high standards, you seem dismissive of my contributions over the years
    confirming the reluctance of the DE education landscape to stiff-arm
    and dismiss the resources, tools, and strategies that others states are
    fully embracing.

    I’ve concluded that, at this time…you choose to be un-informed.

    Will your position change as the IEP/Autism Task Force and the supporting legislation which requires Process Improvement be
    in your sphere of influence?

    Like

    • You think I’m uniformed? My kids are doing better than your recommended “College” can ever hope to achieve. That college is the definition of mediocrity. Is that all you have to offer?

      You still have nothing to contribute to the DE educational landscape. You really are spam. Go away, or step up.

      Like

  11. Pandora, respectfully i say that I was not enduring that “College” as it was the host of the 2013 ASQ/STEM Conference – no endorsement intended or implied. Yes, I have an increasing abundant body of knowledge to share.

    I choose to step up and do so with this video of author Daniel Pink, who presented to Delaware leaders the finding of his new book regarding the differences in Left Brain-Right Brain…

    Like

  12. Predictable response.

    Like

  13. No dog in this fight

    Pandora wrote: “You (Greg) are spam. Anyone care to disagree with me?”

    I agree with you, Pandora. Greg adds nothing to the conversation; he is using this blog site to try to further himself. If I were searching for quality experts for a position, I sure would not be looking at him!

    Like